Arizona DUI & DWI

Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol is dangerous and life-threatening. For this reason, if you commit a DUI, you will face harsh penalties from both the courts and the Arizona Department of Transportation (DOT) Motor Vehicle Division (MVD).

While your specific penalties will depend on the circumstances of your DUI/DWI and your driving history, you will typically face jail time, fines, compulsory completion of a alcohol/drug addiction treatment and evaluation program, and a driver’s license suspension/revocation.

On this page you’ll find an overview of the definitions of the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit, some of the penalties for a DUI, and the steps you may need to take to reinstate your AZ driver’s license.

Arizona DUI Definitions

The Arizona MVD classifies DUIs by blood alcohol concentration (BAC) and the specific circumstances of your offense.

A standard DUI is classified as driving a vehicle with a BAC of:

  • 0.08% or more.
  • 0.04% or more, if you are driving a commercial vehicle.
  • Any percentage, if you are younger than 21 years old.

An extreme DUI is classified as driving with a BAC of 0.15% or higher.

An aggravated DUI is classified as:

  • DUIs committed with a driver’s license that is suspended, revoked, or canceled.
  • A 3rd offense for DUI within 84 months.
  • A DUI committed while driving with a passenger who is younger than 15 years old.

Each type of DUI in Arizona comes with a different set of penalties and the more severe the DUI, the harsher the consequences.

NOTE: Depending on the judgment of your arresting officer and the discretion of the court, you may still be charged with a DUI even if you have a BAC of less than the legal limits above.

DUI Penalties in Arizona

If you commit a DUI, you will face penalties in criminal court AND with the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division.

Your penalties will depend on the type of DUI you are convicted of.

When you are stopped on suspicion of a DUI by a police officer and either fail or refuse to take the BAC/breathalyzer test, the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division will typically suspend your driver’s license (regardless of any criminal findings) on the spot for:

  • 12 months.
    OR
  • 24 months, for a 2nd refusal or failure within 84 months.

You will be required to complete an alcohol/drug screening before you can apply for a restricted driving permit or attempt to reinstate your license after your suspension time is completed. You may be required to enroll in further education or treatment classes based on your screening results.

Penalties for a Standard DUI

For a 1st offense of a standard DUI, you may face:

  • 10 days in jail.
  • A fine of $1,250.
  • Required completion of an alcohol/drug screening, treatment, and education program.
  • An ignition interlock requirement for every vehicle you drive.
  • Community service.

For a 2nd offense or subsequent offenses, you will likely face:

  • Jail time of at least 90 days.
  • A fine $3,000.
  • A driver’s license revocation for 12 months.
  • Required completion of an alcohol/drug screening, treatment, and education program.
  • An ignition interlock requirement for every vehicle you drive.
  • Community service.

Penalties for an Extreme DUI

For a 1st offense of an extreme DUI, you may face:

  • 30 days in jail.
  • A fine of at least $2,500.
  • Required completion of an alcohol/drug screening, treatment, and education program.
  • An ignition interlock requirement for every vehicle you drive.
  • Community service.

For a 2nd offense (or subsequent offense) of an extreme DUI, you may face:

  • At least 120 days in jail.
  • A fine of at least $3,250.
  • A driver’s license revocation of 12 months.
  • Required completion of an alcohol/drug screening, treatment, and education program.
  • An ignition interlock requirement for every vehicle you drive.
  • Community service.

Penalties for an Aggravated DUI

If you are convicted of an aggravated DUI, you will likely face:

  • 2 years in prison.
  • A driver’s license revocation for 1 year.
  • Required completion of an alcohol/drug screening, treatment, and education program.
  • An ignition interlock requirement for every vehicle you drive.
  • Community service.

NOTE: Depending on the circumstances of your DUI and your exact blood alcohol concentration, your penalties may be different from the
general penalties listed above.

Arizona Ignition Interlock
An ignition interlock device hooks up to your vehicle’s ignition system and requires you to pass a BAC test before you can start your vehicle and drive.

You will be required to have an ignition interlock device installed for any DUI offense in Arizona.

SOURCE